Bill Dietz

Bill Dietz is a composer and writer, born in Arizona. His artistic and theoretical work centers on reception, specifically on listening – its histories, forms, and performance. The work is often presented in festivals, museums, and academic journals, but also in apartment buildings, magazines, and on public streets. In 2013 he co-founded Ear│Wave│Event with Woody Sullender. He has published two books of listening scores – one on his “Tutorial Diversions” series, meant to be performed at home; and the other, made up of “concert pieces,” based on historical and contemporary audience behavior and staging. With Amy Cimini, he co-edited, “Maryanne Amacher: Selected Writings and Interviews” (2020). A theoretical book, “Universal Receptivity,” co-authored with Kerstin Stakemeier, was released in 2021. Since 2012, he is co-chair of the Music/Sound Department in Bard College’s Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts.


  • Violet Quartz


    Title: Violet Quartz
    Series Title: Beacon – a series in ten issues
    Category: Criticism
    Artist: Hong-Kai Wang
    Writers: Bill Dietz, Övül Durmuşoğlu, Darla Migan, Hu Shu-Wen, Hong-Kai Wang
    Series Editor: Bopha Chhay
    Design: Vicky Lum
    Copyeditor: Gina Badger
    Publisher: Artspeak
    Printed by: Metropolitan Fine Printers
    Year Published: 2021
    Pages: 20
    Cover: soft
    Binding: staples
    Dimensions: 15.2 x 22.9 cm
    Edition of 300
    ISBN: 978-1-927630-13-6
    Cost: $12
    Subscription: $100 – for ten issues

    Single Issue – Choose Shipping Option

    BEACON Subscription (Ten Issues) – Choose Shipping Option

    ‘BEACON – a pamphlet series in ten issues’ focuses on how the commitment of artists’ to wider social movements informs contemporary artistic practice. The series will feature texts by artists whose practices engage with language and visual arts.

    Current issues:
    01 – Ruth Buchanan
    02 – Hong-Kai Wang
    03 – Christina Battle
    04 – Justine A. Chambers
    05 – Jared Stanley and
    Sameer Farooq

    06 – Gelare Khoshgozaran
    07 – Lana Lopsei
    08 – Be Oakley
    09 – Bopha Chhay
    10 – Nasrin Himada