Övül Ö. Durmusoglu

Övül Ö. Durmusoglu is an independent curator, educator and writer, currently guest professor and program co-leader in the Graduate School, UdK Berlin and visiting professor in the HBK Braunschweig. Focused on the intersectional narratives around contemporary political subjectivities, she acts between singular languages and collective energies, worldly immersions and historical cosmologies. Övül has recently co-curated 3rd AUTOSTRADA BIENNALE in Kosovo, 12th Survival Kit Festival in Riga, Latvia and “Die Balkone: Life, Art, Pandemic and Proximity” in Berlin (2020-21) with Joanna Warsza. In the past, she was curator at Steirischer Herbst; co-curated different sections of 10th, 13th and 14th Istanbul Biennials; and organised Public Programs for dOCUMENTA (13), among others. She is engaged with CA2M Madrid, Kunsthalle Wien and Martin Gropius Bau for her future projects.


  • Violet Quartz


    Title: Violet Quartz
    Series Title: Beacon – a series in ten issues
    Category: Criticism
    Artist: Hong-Kai Wang
    Writers: Bill Dietz, Övül Durmuşoğlu, Darla Migan, Hu Shu-Wen, Hong-Kai Wang
    Series Editor: Bopha Chhay
    Design: Vicky Lum
    Copyeditor: Gina Badger
    Publisher: Artspeak
    Printed by: Metropolitan Fine Printers
    Year Published: 2021
    Pages: 20
    Cover: soft
    Binding: staples
    Dimensions: 15.2 x 22.9 cm
    Edition of 300
    ISBN: 978-1-927630-13-6
    Cost: $12
    Subscription: $100 – for ten issues

    Single Issue – Choose Shipping Option

    BEACON Subscription (Ten Issues) – Choose Shipping Option

    ‘BEACON – a pamphlet series in ten issues’ focuses on how the commitment of artists’ to wider social movements informs contemporary artistic practice. The series will feature texts by artists whose practices engage with language and visual arts.

    Current issues:
    01 – Ruth Buchanan
    02 – Hong-Kai Wang
    03 – Christina Battle
    04 – Justine A. Chambers
    05 – Jared Stanley and
    Sameer Farooq

    06 – Gelare Khoshgozaran
    07 – Lana Lopsei
    08 – Be Oakley
    09 – Bopha Chhay
    10 – Nasrin Himada